Staff

Russ Beebe

Russ Beebe

User Experience Designer
HIT UI design and evaluation, information design
Email: russ.beebe@vumc.org
Phone: (615) 936-0762

Mr. Beebe has extensive experience in graphic and interaction design, user interface modeling, technical illustration and infographic creation. He is adept at synthesizing ergonomics, human factors, and user-centered design concepts and testing methodologies to improve the usability of communications technologies and related systems. He holds a bachelor's degree in environmental systems design from Antioch University West, and received educational training in engineering at Carnegie-Mellon University and industrial design at Syracuse University.

Akhil Choudhary

Akhil Choudhary

Research Assistant I
Email: akhil.choudhary@vumc.org
Phone: (615) 936-3779

Mr. Choudhary is a research assistant working on the Cancer Patient Safety Learning Lab project.

Elizabeth H. Edge

Elizabeth H. Edge

Sr. Administrative Assistant
Email: elizabeth.h.edge@vumc.org
Phone: (615) 936-6598

Mark Hughes

Mark Hughes

Project Manager
Email: mark.hughes@vumc.org
Phone: (615) 936-2663

Mr. Hughes has more than 15 years of experience in research and clinical administration, and sponsored program management. He works closely with CRISS investigators, staff, institutional officials and sponsors to develop budget proposals for research projects, and oversees financial and regulatory compliance of sponsor and institutional regulations.

Joyce M. Harris MA

Joyce M. Harris, MA

Manager, Data Analysis (Department of Biomedical Informatics)
Qualitative research, HIT, organizational studies
Email: joyce.harris@vumc.org
Phone: (615) 936-6820
Fax: (615) 936-0102

Jennifer Morse, MS

Jennifer Morse, MS

Biostatistician II
Programming, statistical analyses
Email: jennifer.morse@vumc.org
Phone: (615) 875-9209

Timothy Newman

Timothy Newman

Associate Application Developer
Email: timothy.a.newman@vumc.org
Phone: (615) 936-7380

Carrie Reale

Carrie Reale, MSN, RN-BC

Informatics Nurse Specialist
HIT UI evaluation and usability
Email: carrie.reale@vumc.org
Phone: (615) 936-3614

Ms. Reale is a board-certified nurse informaticist who specializes in the design, facilitation, and analysis of healthcare-related usability evaluations. Her clinical background is primarily in neonatal intensive care and includes both direct patient care and clinical nurse education. Ms. Reale has a master’s degree in nursing informatics from Vanderbilt University and a bachelor’s degree in business administration from San Jose State University.

Christopher L. Simpson

Christopher L. Simpson

Research Manager (Department of Biomedical Informatics)
Qualitative research, program evaluation
Email: chris.simpson@vumc.org
Phone: (615) 343-2879
Fax: (615) 322-0502

Students

E. Bishop Rhodes

E. Bishop Rhodes

Research Intern
Perioperative safety
Email: evan.b.rhodes@vumc.org
Phone: (931) 334-2664